“Hidamari ga Kikoeru” by Fumino Yuki

I posted this on my personal blog and then figured I should probably share it here as well! Hidamari ga Kikoeru is Fumino Yuki’s debut work, released through Canna just over a month ago, and has made somewhat of a splash all things considered. It’s such a lovely story–usually I’m not a fan of angst or sad subplots in my BL but this was a sadness that was not only very real but also very well-handled and had nothing to do with the usual relationship drama.

image

the story starts with college student Taichi, who comes from a not-so-well-off household and is desperately searching for work. He (literally) stumbles across fellow student Kouhei while on a job hunt, and is incredibly enticed by the delicious bento Kouhei has in hand. However, something seems a bit off about Kouhei–and when Taichi consults his friends about it, he gets an answer he really wasn’t expecting: Kouhei is severely hearing impaired.

and because of his problems hearing, Kouhei currently is in severe need of a note-taker for his classes. Thus an agreement is found between the two: Taichi will take notes for Kouhei in class, and Kouhei will bring Taichi a delicious homemade bento every time they have class together. (Though Kouhei easily keeps up his part of the bargain, Taichi has a bad habit of falling sleep in class…)

while Kouhei’s hearing is poor, he can still understand when spoken to loudly and clearly in close proximity, so he and Taichi–who excels at loud, boisterous speech–get on with ease. Kouhei lost his hearing due to a severe fever in middle school, and thus spent the entirety of his high school and early college life slowly becoming distanced from his fully-abled peers. So Taichi’s willingness to stick by his side warms his heart.

and in turn Taichi becomes incredibly protective of Kouhei. From people who badmouth his disability to those who romanticize it, Taichi is willing to stick up for Kouhei as the warm, kind person Taichi knows him to be.

image

their first meeting on the roof where Kouhei initially hides from his peers during lunch.

image

Taichi standing up for Kouhei after punching one of their classmates lmao.

“It’s not your fault that you can’t hear!” while all this time Kouhei had been blaming himself for his peers’ cold treatment.

image

the most painful part of this story is when Kouhei doesn’t hear someone the first time and when he asks them to repeat themselves, they just laugh it off like “eh it wasn’t a big deal.” This isn’t a huge deal to most people (and I know I do it all the time), but the problem is he really wants to hear–whether it’s important big things or just small talk, he wants to know what his friends are saying. So for him “oh it’s nothing important” is an incredibly cruel phrase.

this actually hit me really damn hard, every time someone said this to him.

image

Kouhei’s favorite thing about Taichi is that Taichi really appreciates and loves food. One of his favorite things to hear is Taichi going “delicious~!!” while he eats haha.

image

to Kouhei, more than finding a woman who will love him even with his near-deafness, all he really wants in his life is one important person who will be there to try and understand him.

image

Taichi telling a young woman off after she wants him to set her up with Kouhei and then romanticizes his disability.

image

image

Kouhei requested his mother make a hamburger steak special for Taichi, and so Taichi tells him the important story of his parent-less childhood and why hamburger steak means so much to him… and Kouhei doesn’t hear any of it.

;;

this scene hurt so much because in his embarrassment over trying to tell Kouhei such an intimate and personal story, when Kouhei asks what he said, Taichi respond with “oh nothing haha it wasn’t important w/e w/e”

cries my heart /o\

image

Kouhei being told that his hearing is starting to get worse. ;;

image

Taichi jokes “you really love seeing me that much huh, to stand in the rain!” and Kouhei responds “yeah… I love (it)”

and then they fight and Kouhei breaks off their relationship, because he’s afraid of both his hearing loss and losing Taichi.

image

Kouhei at the doctor’s getting his hearing tested, thinking about how one of the most painful parts of truly losing his hearing is that he won’t be able to hear Taichi anymore.

f u c k

image

Taichi getting caught in the act of explaining to a friend how important Kouhei is to him.

image

ahhhhhhhhhhhhh THIS COUPLE!!!! I AM SO DISTRAUGHT!!!

anyway I really really really recommend this book!!! It’s really lovely and I sincerely enjoyed the way Kouhei’s hearing was handled–both Kouhei and Taichi were such wonderful, sweet, cute characters who each had their fair share of depth. There were some devastatingly sad moments but in the end since you know Taichi will be there to hold Kouhei’s hand through the worst moments it’s still very heartwarming. ;;

Tags:

10 responses to ““Hidamari ga Kikoeru” by Fumino Yuki”

  1. KhAeL says :

    Very cute! I love your reviews and there is just something about BL that attracts me so. Thank you very much for being generous and sharing this with us all!

  2. Epifanio says :

    Wooo, me cautivo! Me dan ganas de comprarlo.
    De verdad es una de esas historias que van lentamente atrapándote y haciendo que uno sienta empatía por el personaje ;-;
    Joder, lo quiero!
    ¿Hay un segundo tomo?
    Gracias por compartir ~ <3

    • ふう子 says :

      sorry, I’m not very good with Spanish so I hope google translate translated your comment correctly!! ><

      thank you for reading my review! It really is a wonderful story that's easy to empathize with. Unfortunately it's only one volume long, but the flow of the story is very nicely-handled so it doesn't feel incomplete or rushed or anything!

  3. H-san says :

    Thank you so much for your reviews, they are always so fun to read
    and I always end up finding so many new bl i need in my life….(my wallet curses you though) I hope to continue reading more in the future!

  4. Arya says :

    WAAAAAAAAAAH AMI THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS!!!!! I’m a huge fan of Nimo (which is the name she uses for doujinshi, I need to get used to her official pen name…) and she’s actually really well-known in the Japanese krbs fandom (or at least the kikuro one)! Her Pixiv is http://www.pixiv.net/member_illust.php?id=3200081 (I know you’re not into kikuro but if you feel like it, you should give her kikuro comic on Pixiv a try!). She actually printed only one doujinshi but it had as many pages as a small tankoubon and REALLY MADE A SPLASH:a few copies were sold on YJA for 30,000 yen lmao………………….

    I was really excited knowing that she went pro and was really hoping someone (especially you but you had been posting less about BL;;) would talk about her debut release since I’m no good at Japanese orz;; The theme she used is such an unusual one but I’m so happy she really seems to have done it well and realistically… There’s also the chara designs, somehow they fit the character really well ;w;!! The “oh it’s nothing important” really killed me because it’s such a common thing in every day life!! Reading your post made me practically tear up dkfjalhgk (I’m such a sucker for well-done angst and sad subplots in BL too, which is kinda obvious when you look at who my BL favorite mangaka are) I hope it’ll be released in French or in English one day…

    Thank you for taking the time to write this and for all the beautiful pictures too!! I hope that with all the BL you’ve gotten from your trip to Japan, you’ll start talking a little more about it in 2015 ;//w//;! (I’m really really curious about Ido Gihou….. ///HIT)

  5. samira01 says :

    Thank you so much for giving a review of this story. I really can’t wait to get this book. I was searching to online but I can find it, other than that I don’t know how to get this manga. I read the first chapter and can’t wait to read the rest of this story. I wish I could get it from somewhere.
    thank you so much
    take care

  6. mari says :

    What happens in the end like..? Did they get together or…? Is it a tragic ending ;_;

  7. Andrea says :

    Oh gosh lol. I hit send before I wrote everything.

    Thank you for the summary I’m super intrested in this one &it’s, the manga, so lovely.
    I also love boy love and from the southern portion of the USA. I think I read at least one story everyday. I wish I had enough money to buy them all, but I dont.

    Do you know where I could buy this one?

    • ふう子 says :

      Hello! Thank you for reading my summary; I’m glad you enjoyed it. 8)

      I have a ‘Where To Buy’ page at the top of my site that you might want to check out. It’s admittedly a little outdated in some regards but the stores should all still be in use. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

