“Fubin BL” anthology

I don’t recall ever talking about it on here, but a while back Libre released a BL anthology titled ‘Nakeru BL’—which was essentially a compilation of stories about boys crying. Or at least I assume that’s what it was, considering that was the theme. But I actually didn’t buy it, due to lack of interest in the artists it contained. (It was pretty highly-reviewed, though, and actually right up my ally if it had more artists I’m willing to throw my money at.)

however—! Libre has recently announced yet another anthology in the series, this time titled ‘Fubin BL‘. ‘Fubin’ means something along the lines of ‘pitiful’, so this one should be an anthology wherein many relationships start out of pity or condolence. Which wouldn’t be that exciting to me in itself until I saw the artist lineup.

welps

technically there are still only three artists I’m wholeheartedly interested in, by oh gosh do those three artists tempt me so. I’m sure I don’t even have to explain my affection for Kumota Haruko, all things considered. Suzuki Tsuta, of course, is glorious and it feels like it’s been forever since I last read anything new by her. (The last work I saw from her even, was related to that show Sherlock–the art was pretty, but my interest in Sherlock is lacking at best so it was still kinda ‘hmm’.)

the third artist though—!! SHIMURA TAKAKO! \o/ As I’m sure many of you know, Shimura Takako is the artist for the hit series Hourou Musuko, a slice-of-life about a kid named Nitori who is unsure of his gender. Shimura is also the author being the popular GL series Aoi Hana, and is the artist for one of my all-time favorite non-BL releases Dounika Naru Hibi. I just absolutely adore her commentary and playfulness when it comes to gender and sexuality, so to have her releasing in an actual legitimate BL anthology is honestly like a dream come true.

If I wish hard enough, will Takayama Shinobu also release some original BL? Unlikely, but I’ll take Shimura Takako as one small victory.

Tags: , ,

6 responses to ““Fubin BL” anthology”

  1. s12 says :

    count me in wishing for Takayama Shinobu to release smth original in BL genre

  2. Sringangel says :

    You got me at kumota haruko and suzuki tsuta ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

  3. BLScanlations (@BLScanlations) says :

    Hey, do you have any news about Hakumokuren volume 02? ç__ç
    I’m waiting for it ç_ç
    And also do you know if the stories from Aoi Seri in OPERA will be released as a tankobon?
    I have some of her stories but I don’t have all the chapters =/ and I would like to have all of her BL works.
    Sorry for my bad English =X

  4. subarito says :

    i saw the cover of the citron magazine with Takako Shimura in it today and it was just wonderful, i can’t wait for read it

Leave a Reply

