today in BL manga

Long time no see!

♔ → On August 24th Yamamoto Kotetsuko will be releasing the second volume of her manga Lucky Number 13 through Rutile! I’ve been waiting almost a year for this so I’m ecstatic!

♔ → Also in release announcements, on August 25th Chiba Ryouko will be releasing a tankoubon through Chara. Admittedly I was hoping for Junko, but Chiba Ryouko is good as well! It feels like it’s been so long since I last read something new from her.

♔ → On Canna’s release date, the website was updated with information for July’s issue. Snae Hata gets the cover again! And Yamada Torico gets the color page. *w* They really are revisiting a lot of the mangaka they originally started out with! Also also, Inoue Nawo?? So great! Though I’m sad that Ootsuki Miu’s story still isn’t continuing. orz;;; It left off on a terrible cliffhanger so the wait is frustrating.

Speaking of Canna, though, they finally added the cover for Marita Yuzu’s upcoming tankoubon:

♔ → Not necessarily BL-related, but this month is great for Kumota Haruko as far as josei manga goes! Not only is she on the cover of ITAN but also volume one of her series through them was announced for release next month. The cover has already been posted to their blog, along with Bikke’s who also happens to be releasing a book through them in July. I’m hoping Aniya’s will be announced for August or September!

♔ → Some other covers I found interesting are Ishino Aya’s latest release through Rutile and then Komizu Kiyo and Ogasawara Uki’s through HertZ.

Ishino Aya’s, in particular, is so pretty. I love how innocent her BL illustrations tend to be—they tell a very simple but lovely story.

♔ → Ootsuki Miu is back in Daria! Actually, just that was enough to make me really want to purchase the latest issue but since I wasn’t interested enough in many of the other mangaka I had to pass it up. I went back and counted and this is Ootsuki’s third story through Daria (sixth, counting the online-only releases) so hopefully I can realistically keep my fingers crossed for a tankoubon soon.

This month was just generally a hard month for me when it came to magazine and anthology purchases, haha. Because Konno Satomi was debuting in Chara and also because Junko’s manga finished up in this issue, I wanted to buy Chara. But I also really wanted OPERA for Matsuo Marta and Nakamura Asumiko. ;; In the end I tried to take the ‘responsible’ route—since I couldn’t choose between the three magazines I bought a tankoubon from my backlog wishlist instead.

♔ → Yoneda Kou, evidently coming back full swing, is also on the cover of volume one of BiQ. She doesn’t have a story inside, though, sadly.

♔ → And lastly, Baby volume 17 has finally been released. As you may recall, this volume was originally scheduled for late March but had to be pushed back due to the earthquake in Japan. The theme is ‘yanki uke’ this time around, and the special guest and cover illustrator is Kyuugou.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “today in BL manga”

  1. Kery says :

    Omg yankees and Kyuugou… such a natural match, lol.

  2. leenoriega says :

    Oh man, so much stuff going on!
    The series I’m most excited about is Marita Yuzu’s. I’ve read her previously released tankobons and I.so.loved them. The humor, the characters – everything. It’s a pity I read your blog entry only now, I made this month’s order in the morning today T_T Not sure if I’ll have money next month, because I’m moving to another city. Let’s hope that someone scans it then.. (I know sounds like a total leecher 8D).

    Also, happy for Yoneda Kou! But it’s a pity she’s starting with another mag… I wanted to see the end to her other series… what was its title… something about samurai.

    What is BiQ? Is it an anthology or a magazine? I suspect I won’t resist buying it once she publishes anything =.=
    And Kyuugou on the cover :3 My my, two eye candies xD

    On a random note, have you read Kojima Lalako’s Neko no Yomeiri? (I guess you have). I was attracted to it by its sample pages available on Craft’s website. Just need something nice and fluffy >.>

    Thanks for the news!

    • ふう子 says :

      There is! And I agree re: Marita Yuzu’s works! They always have such a great atmosphere and I love her drawing style. Hopefully you’ll have enough money to order her new book, but even if you don’t then I doubt it’ll go out of print quickly or anything.

      I, too, wonder if Yoneda will get around to finishing the stories she had ongoing. My hopes aren’t too high for ‘Ore ni Koi Shite Dousunda’ but I’m surprised that there hasn’t been an announcement for her continuing with her story from CRAFT.

      BiQ is a new anthology through F-Books if I recall correctly.

      And yes, I have read ‘Neko no Yomeiri’! :> It is very cute and fluff—I definitely recommend it. Though also if you want something fluffy and like Kojima’s art style, I recommend her tankoubon through Canna ‘Kimi to Parade’!

  3. Amanda says :

    Hi I’m here to say that your blog rules! I enjoy reading your passionate and witty entries. Your tumblr also provides me with an astonishing amount of eye candy! :D

    I reckon it’s safe to say that you prefer your BL to be more “street” and cool (I hope you know what I mean)? Jaryuu Dokuro+Aniya Yuiji+Kyuugou are kindred spirits to me, in terms of themes and style :D I can imagine all 3 getting along well over tea.

    Lastly, have you ever read any works by Kunieda Saika? I especially love her twisted little stories, and was wondering if you feel the same.

    Keep on rocking!

    • ふう子 says :

      Hello! Thank you for reading my blog—I’m glad you like it. :>

      To be honest I like pretty much any kind of BL, even the cutesy stuff. But I suppose I must admit that the most enjoyment I tend to get are in the darker or more unusual titles. Just as long as they’re not tragedy, haha. I’m too wussy for that!

      I have! I like her works a lot, though it’s been a while since I last read anything by her. But I agree with you—as much as I also enjoy her silly comedy stories, her darker ones were always my favorites. Though I liked her sweet dramas as well.

Leave a Reply

