today in BL manga

♔ → First off, we must talk about the latest cover of Shousetsu Lynx.

By Takashima Kazusa. It’s so nice to see her beautiful artwork again—that cover is seriously the most beautiful magazine cover I’ve seen in a long time. Absolutely stunning. *w*

♔ → Dear+ finally updated a few days ago after getting behind for a while (likely due to the earthquake). Mostly I’m just posting about it so everyone can go look at the gorgeous Hashimoto Aoi color illustration. Her art style seems to be evolving more and more into one that I really like. Also, if you click the next issue preview you’ll see that there’s a gorgeous Yamanaka Hiko color page. Kind of want. Must resist ahhhh! orz;;; If Yamanaka Hiko is continually in Dear+ then it hopefully won’t be too long until there’s another tankoubon release from her.

♔ → Some of the mangaka under Libre have posted sweet ‘ganbare nihon!!’ messages that can be read here. Includes mangaka like Nakamura Asumiko, Kuku Hayate, etc.

Aoi Seri also posted her own message here on her blog. She sounds quite down, understandably. ;w;

♔ → Not necessarily BL-related, but Aniya Yuiji is currently on ITAN’s header: click!

♔ → I generally do not buy moca (which is the BL anthology released though Chocolat Comics) even though it almost always looks gorgeous, but while I was doing ~the rounds~ and checking the BL line and publisher websites the cover for the latest volume caught my eye. So I went to the site and they already have the new list for the next volume and it. Is. Amazing.

Shorts by Kojima Lalako, Moto Haruko, Manako, Katou Setsuko and Takarai Saki, full-length stories by Yamada Torico and Matsuo Marta, and then a pin-up by Sunae Hata. Is it even possible to get any more amazing? Thank goodness it doesn’t come out until May so I can start saving up for another book I don’t usually buy.

♔ → Finally, I have a small-ish recommendation thing in the form of a scanlation from Echochi scans: Hanamai Koeda ni Aimashou by Kazumi Maki and Kano Ayumi. It’s about a young man, Daisuke, who was raised as a girl in order to avoid him having to take on his father’s prestigious legacy and the sleazy-but-serious lawyer who is in love with ‘her’. A very cute story with snazzy art.

See? You should all read it!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “today in BL manga”

  1. Snakey says :

    Can moca be bought anywhere other than Amazon.co.jp….? I’m totally willing to pay for some Moto Haruko & Snae Hata stuff (And as of late, Kojima Lalako has peaked my interest greatly thanks to you, madam), but….. the shipping fee is just outrageous for North America. TuT Especially because mags are usually so heavy ><

    • ふう子 says :

      umm as far as I know it can also be purchased off BK1 at least. Perhaps other places that carry anthologies as well. Though actually amazon.jp does not charge their shipping by weight but instead by quantity. (Which is why I buy a lot of books all at once every time I make an order through them, since it evens out the shipping cost to around $4 per book.) They are, though, as you said, nonetheless rather expensive.

      And I’m happy to you’re starting to become interested in Kojima Lalako. :>

      • Snakey says :

        Uwa, thanks for the correction on my part on relating shipping with the weight! (Somehow I feel like I was unconsciously justifying their ship fees…..) I’ve also thought about buying a bulk of books from them to minimize charges, but it’s the customs that get me if I do that :( *grumbles at unforeseen shipping costs*

        Thanks also for the rec on BK1~ :’D (I was looking through your ‘where to buy’ list too how did I miss that. orz)

        P.S: Kojima Lalako’s tweets are full of sugar. <3 And the fact that she follows back a;slgsgs what a sweetheart. ;A;)

        • ふう子 says :

          haha I remember the good old days when amazon.jp didn’t force you to get the two-day shipping—it was much cheaper and they still somehow got the package to you really quickly. Too bad they couldn’t have just left it that way.

          No problem! Hopefully that Where to Buy section will come in handy for at least someone.

          I know, right? She’s such a sweetheart. *v* She also thanks you every time you RT her artwork or work information. As much as I love all of my other favorite mangaka as well, Kojima Lalako is one of the only people I’ve added on twitter (besides maybe Kumota Haruko) who is always excited to reply to her fans.

  2. Suimu says :

    SO GLAD TAKASHIMA-SENSEI IS BLESSING US WITH HER BEAUTIFUL WORK AGAIN. That cover is absolutely gorgeous, and I can’t wait until whatever it is comes out in Tankoubon since I don’t buy anthologies very often ;_;

    • ふう子 says :

      Isn’t it? :> Sadly, it doesn’t seem like she’s illustrating any of the actual story from the magazine—just the cover. But even just having her do cover illustrations is a step in the right direction, I think!

  3. eli says :

    /delurks

    OMG Takashima Kazusa is illustrating again?? OMGOMG! I hope she comes out with her own stuff again soon ;3; /happy

Leave a Reply

