today in BL manga

♔ → The cover and preview of Mieno Saori’s Ano Ko ga Kare wo Suki na Riyuu was posted to CRAFT’s website. tbh I think it’s weird that they’re publishing this book under CRAFT since I’m about 99.9% sure the title story ran in HertZ. (It ended in the first issue I ever purchased, if I recall correctly.) But whatever, it doesn’t really matter what line the book is published under as long as it’s published, right? I’m definitely super excited to have this in my hands, since it’s Mieno Saori’s second book where it’s all her—not written by someone else. And the story seems a little heart-breaking but nonetheless incredibly enjoyable.

♔ → For some reason Canna’s twitter reposted all of the previews of this month’s magazine. Probably because it was Canna’s release date. But I’m glad they did so since I missed quite a few of them the first time around. I’m excited for moooore Ootsuki Miu.

They also already posted the preview for the cover of volume twelve: Umematsu Machie! Sadly they haven’t updated their site yet, though, so we are unable to see the full mangaka line-up for v12.

♔ → Citron Web posted pictures of Kumota Haruko’s sign event at their blog! If you’re interested you should definitely check them out. A fan made cookie versions of Mii-kun and Kei-chan and also of Kumota Haruko’s little self mascot, which is very cute. Talented people love Kumota Haruko! Also interesting is that there are some pictures of (the back of) Kumota Haruko herself! This is unusual since many BL mangaka (or mangaka in general?) don’t want their appearance or identity to be highly publicized. So it was shocking but made me happy.

Morozumi Sumitomo sent her flowers, which I think is super adorable.

♔ → There’s a Sunae Hata postcard in this month’s Chara. Must… not… buy just for postcards. orz;;;; (Especially since Junko isn’t even in this issue!) If anyone buys Chara this month, please take a picture of it for me!!

♔ → Last night I finally finished my read-through of Rutile. The stories are all quite interesting, of course, but what really caught my eye was Matsumoto Miecohouse’s. In it, two cousins happen into a sexual relationship until one of them kind of laughs it off like it was nothing, thus breaking the other one’s heart. While trying to heal, the heart-broken one constantly attempts to set his cousin up with others whom he things his cousin loves, but there’s kind of a feeling that his cousin actually is in love with him after all. And it cuts off there. And there isn’t a new chapter in next month’s Rutile! /;A;\ Noooooo. MatsuMieco you are really too cruel.

♔ → b-boy web has been revamped! Did this happen a long time ago and I’m just noticing now?? I really love it, though—Libre took a similar approach with b-boy’s website as they did with Citron and now each story has at least one tiny preview image so you can get a feel for all the mangaka in each book. I really love when publishers try their best to give you a peek inside so you know what you’re getting into when you buy the book. At least, more of a ‘peek’ than you would have gotten otherwise. Anyway, you should check it out! It’s ultra snazzy now.

♔ → Speaking of Libre and b-boy, I purchased the first issue of b-boy Cube. Has anyone else tried this out? I got it for the Watanabe Asia and Kojima Lalako, but since it was cheap (just around $5 USD for the PDF file) it wasn’t really too much of a waste of money. It’s just a short-ish (100 or so pages) eBook of particularly dirty stories. Kojima Lalako’s story is adorable and filthy at the same time, which would be a terrifying mix if it weren’t by Kojima Lalako. I never thought I would see a rimming scene in a manga by her, to be honest. And, of course, Watanabe Asia’s story is dirty, dirty, dirty and her color images are absolutely stunning. I would screencap some of them for you but LoveComi jumped through about a million hoops to make sure you can’t take screencaps while the PDF is open. Anybody want some pictures taken with my digital camera??

♔ → Lastly (but not leastly?), finally a new tankoubon release from Junko!!

Starlike Words. Amazing. ;A; I am so excited. And it will be released on the exact same day as Kojima Lalako’s second tankoubon release from BexBoy Comics, Iya yo Yamete yo! March and April are going to be absolutely amazing months for BL releases oh man.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

21 responses to “today in BL manga”

  1. mleonard1995 says :

    New tankoubon from Junko?! WOW!!! I wonder when I can have a little peep… and I wonder when her tankoubons would be licensed in English…

    • ふう子 says :

      Yep! So exciting. *w* Sadly, though, I doubt she’ll really be licensed any time soon since they only license a little at a time, pick really random titles and then take forever to finish and release them in English. Which is too bad.

  2. Cozza says :

    omg yay! JUNKO ♥♥♥

  3. Tanko says :

    I think new be-boy web looks a little confusing and generic, but cute as just japanese can do with such a kitsch color and themes. O_O

    • ふう子 says :

      tbh I don’t even really care about the colors and design of a website—the only thing that matters to me is that they’re making it easy to access the information I need to decide I want to buy a certain manga, etc. So I think their site revamp worked out well enough.

  4. kokiden says :

    Oh thanks for the rec on Be Boy Cube! Sounds like something I could get into! :D

    This month’s Be x Boy Gold was full of goodies! OH MY!

  5. kokiden says :

    Hey sorry to comment twice, but I couldn’t figure out how to buy B-boy cube! SO CONFUSING! Any hints?

    • ふう子 says :

      It is a bit confusing, sorry about that! (First, open Internet Explorer if you’re using an alternative browser! As far as I know, Internet Explorer is the only browser this works in.) You actually go here! You add the file to your ‘cart’ and purchase the download. Then after you’ve purchased the download (you have to use a credit/debit card), it will bring you to a new page where you can download the file you purchased. There you’ll first have to download their piracy protection files if it’s your first time buying from LoveComi. Your browser might block them, so make sure to allow the pop-ups and such on that site. Once you download their piracy protection files it should ask you where you want to download a zip file that’s a bunch of numbers. THAT is the actual PDF file. After it downloads, open the file that appears along-side it called “Start”. Then you will be able to read your manga!

  6. kokiden says :

    Wow! Thanks! I was using Firefox. That was my first mistake!

    • ふう子 says :

      No problem! I hope everything went okay and you were able to enjoy the emanga! :>

      • kokiden says :

        I bought it, but the PDF wouldn’t open up, and my Japanese isn’t good enough to use their support. *cries* Well, it was only 4 bucks. But still! I wanted to see it!

        • ふう子 says :

          Oh booo, that sucks. 8( Are you opening it by clicking the “Start” file that should have downloaded with the zip file?

          Because after reading your comment I tried to unzip the PDF and read it by just clicking it and it wouldn’ let me. However, it has always worked if I just open it by opening the “Start” file.

  7. cheezy says :

    ;A; March and April just couldn’t come faster! There’s 20+ books in my wishlist that’s coming out during those months… I can’t wait to sink my teeth into Kojima Lalako’s tanks!! And Canna vol 11 too (must… have… Minazuki Akira… cover DDDDDD8), since Yesasia’s only bringing that in next month. *weeps*

    Oh, I wonder if you read Suzukura Hal’s works? Seems like Canna’s been promoting her new work on twitter today. Looks interesting *_*!

    • ふう子 says :

      Seriously! I haven’t even counted the number of releases I want for those two months yet because I’m almost afraid to—it seems like everything good was released suddenly for those two months. I’m going to go broke. /o\

      I haven’t! Actually it wasn’t until just recently that I started reading one of her works since Attractive Fascinante has been posting previews from the upcoming release they’re going to post by her. Her art is incredibly beautiful! *w* So I was happy to see Canna posting pictures of her work haha.

Leave a Reply

