I miss Kobato Mebaru. ;;

See the title. It really feels like forever since I last saw Kobato Mebaru in any magazines or anthologies at all. Not Dear+ or Daria or even BexBoy. Really, she doesn’t seem to be doing much of anything lately. (Though she did update her blog a while back iirc… I think it had something to do with novel illustrations.) So though it’s something I can”t really partake in, I did admittedly get pretty damn excited when it was announced that a novel she illustrated would be released in early January.

Though actually, now that the cover is out I just miss her even more. orz;;;

Kobato Mebaru, come back! I need you!

Tags:

8 responses to “I miss Kobato Mebaru. ;;”

  1. Polinn says :

    Hello! I`m new here, hope you don`t mind:D
    In last Wings I saw a story by Megu Konishi, but I`m pretty sure that it`s a pseudonym (or real name) of Kobato Mebaru, because her art is really peculiar. But I hope she will write a new BL stories too.

    • ふう子 says :

      ahhhh you’re right–after looking it up, that’s definitely Kobato Mebaru’s art style. Boooo she’s been working on shoujo manga all this time and I didn’t even know. I guess I’ll have to buy her shoujo tankoubon and see if it’s any good!

      • Polinn says :

        I can`t say that it`s a classical shoujo magazine, sometimes it looks more like a shounen or even shounen ai:D
        Seems it`s becoming popular with mangakas to try their hand at different genres. For example in Wings there are also works of Natsume Isaku, Nangoku Banana and Tojitsuki Hajime, but for me they are first of all BL mangakas…

        • ふう子 says :

          Ah sorry, I was referring to the shoujo tankoubon she just recently released in November. /o\ There really are a lot of BL mangaka these days who also like publishing shoujo and josei manga. It’s always nice but at the same time I worry that they’ll decide they prefer josei/shoujo and go over to that genre for good.

  2. Myra says :

    Seconded!!

  3. Suimu says :

    XD yah i think both her and ogura-sensei haven’t been doing very much bl lately.

    ogura-sensei seems to be doing some shoujo stuff too recently =u= … come back to bl!!

    • ふう子 says :

      Haha it’s not hard to believe that something Kobato Mebaru does, Ogura Muku is quick to follow. I wonder if they’ll release any shoujo doujinshi together. That would be interesting.

      Ogura is still doing quite well in BL, though—as far as I know she’s still running in both HertZ and Cab on a semi-regular basis.

Leave a comment