Six Month Thank You!

Hello! Actually, today six months ago I was just playing with the idea of creating a wordpress blog since it seemed like something particularly fun. I enjoy writing a lot and thought blogging would be perfect for me if only I could find something I’d want to blog about.

Which of course brought me to blogging about BL manga. Because at the time my other most main fandom was VOCALOID and kind of Hetalia, but it was already so easy to find Hetalia info and VOCALOID is just so totally a lost cause for me because. Well. It’s hard for me to find proper info in that fandom. Plus, as I said before, as much as I love BL manga fandom it’s such a hard fandom (especially for someone as pitifully shy as me when it comes to striking up conversation with people I don’t know) to make friends in and I really really wanted to meet some people who would fangirl Ootsuki Miu and discuss all the different publishers and magazines and art styles and current story trends with me.

I think things have gone pretty well so far! I’ve been able to get close to many people through this blog and set up some very nice friendships; I’ve been given a place to write about one of the things I feel most passionately about, even though most people would probably roll their eyes at it in any place outside this blog; my BL manga collection has become disproportionately large. I have so far accumulated 188 posts (now 189), 238 tags, more than 27,000 hits, 400+ comments and even a couple of email subscribers.

To say that makes me really happy is putting it lightly, I think. Every time I stumble across someone referencing this blog or every time someone leaves me a nice comment or emails me or adds me on other places because they enjoy reading this blog so much, it really makes my day. So I wanted to take this six-month anniversary to thank you all very much for taking the time out of your busy schedules to read about all the mundane details of BL manga that I constantly write about. I’ll try my best to keep writing interesting articles to post here, and I can only hope I won’t eventually bore everyone with my incessant flailing over Aniya Yuiji or talk of random release dates or my super insanely unnecessarily long reviews.

Thank you very much! /o/ Hopefully I will stay interested enough to keep writing for six more months to come!

14 responses to “Six Month Thank You!”

  1. Enza-chan says :

    Congratulations! /o/

    I’ll keep reading your blog until it turns a year old ♥

  2. lemondrops says :

    THANK YOU for continuing to run this blog and providing us with so many amazing recs and reviews. In only six months you’ve accomplished so much and you should be proud of yourself. One of my favorite things about your entries is that you can tell you’re passionate about the subject matter and *enjoy* it — that kind of enthusiasm comes through in your writing & in turn makes me excited to read more. I’ve been able to discover several new artists (Kumota Haruko <33) and circles that I never would have known otherwise. Not to mention that you yourself are so humble. You interact with you readers and I'm sure I'm not the only one who appreciates that.

    AHHH sorry I rambled so much.
    tl;dr: CONGRATULATIONS ♥♥♥

    • ふう子 says :

      u-uwaaaa your comment is so sweet. ;A; I want to bookmark it and come back to stare at it whenever I’m feeling sad haha.

      Thank you so much dear. ❤ Seriously. It makes me incredibly happy to know that you’ve gotten anything out of reading this blog.

  3. kokiden/Barbara says :

    Omedetou gozaimasu!

    I have to say, it’s a pleasure to read your very clear and incisive prose. Your passion shines through.

    abscondite and I know we were supposed to write something for a guest column on est em, but I have severe doubts of my ability to express myself as well as you! *pathetic excuse of the week*

    • ふう子 says :

      Thank you!

      Thank you so much; though it’s a bit embarrassing, I’m glad that my writing properly conveys how much I like BL manga haha.

      I’m sure you’ll be able to do fine! All you have to do is describe what you think her main positive points are, and then touch on the topics I usually touch on in the spotlight posts. Since you two know much more about her than I do, I’m sure you could do a much better job. That is, of course, only if you absolutely don’t mind doing it. I don’t want you to feel forced into writing a post about her just because I brought up the idea!

  4. connie says :

    Congrats on reaching 6 months!! In the blogosphere that’s definitely a milestone. Keep up the great posting!! :)

    -Connie

  5. Sora says :

    happy 6 month Anniversary! (ish? haha)
    congrats on achieving so much posts and works and etc :))
    i always enjoy reading your posts since i learn so much about so many new BL mangaka, manga, and info XD
    next step-> enter to anime and seiyuu! loll :D

  6. sweety says :

    congratulation for the 6 months of blogging ^^

    thank you so much for the news and post vabout various things. and seriously it’s a great help because we got some news and discovery on which and which mangaka XD so thank you for your hard work.

    good luck on continuing this way XD

  7. vomitdirt says :

    :) Congrats, love. Your blog is always so fun and amusing to read, and I am really glad you started (and kept!) it! ^^

Leave a Reply

