Ze Besto

Because I am asked this a LOT and don’t know how I could possibly format it to make it fit in the FAQ and I have nothing else to post about lol. A list of the BL manga that I often go back to when I feel like I’ve run out of things to read. I suppose you could take this as a list of my personal recommendations. Of course, don’t read them with your expectations too high—just because these are my personal favorites doesn’t mean everyone is going to love them.

Anyway, feel free to leave your own recommendations in the comments!

Aniya Yuiji
Me wo Tojite 3byou
Danshi Meiro
Kangoku 69

Asou Kai
Yachin Hanbun no Ibasho desu

Asou Mitsuaki
Bitter Sweet Candy

Est Em
Age Called Blue

Furutsuji Kikka
Sakura ni Aitara
Hachiue no Juunin

Ike Reibun
Bi no Isu

Inoue Nawo
Sute Neko ni Ie

Jaryuu Dokuro
Endless World
Sugar Milk

Junko
Kimi Note

Katou Setsuko
Trompe L’Oeil no Yubisaki

Kobato Mebaru
Sawatte, Tokashite

Konjiki Runa
Bara to Yaban

Konno Keiko
Kawaii Hito
Ai no Kotodama

Kotobuki Tarako
Sex Pistols

Kumota Haruko
“Mimi-kun no …” series

Kuroyama Mekki
Koi no Magarikado

Kusama Sakae
Nikushokujuu no Table Manner
Yumemiru Seiza

Mieno Saori
Hanakage no Kioku

Monchi Kaori
Seito Kaichou ni Chuukoku

Morozumi Sumitomo
Akarui Kazoku Keikaku
Hakobune

Nakamura Asumiko
Non Non
Doukyuusei
Sotsugyousei
Sora to Hara

Ninomiya Etsumi
“Mainichi Seiten” series

Ogura Muku
Furueru Yoru no Himitsugoto
Sentimental Garden Lover

Ootsuki Miu
Ouji Hiroimashita
Ai Dano Koi Dano
Tonari ni Kimi no Nukumori o

Psyche Delico
Kizudarake no I Love You

Shinba Rize
Binan no Dendou

Takao Hiroi
Ikenai Otoko

Tojitsuki Hajime
Shiro Neko

Yamada Yugi
Picnic
Boku ni Datte Iibun ga Aru

Yamagata Satomi
Kanjou Kairo
Fake Fur
Three Quarters

Yamamoto Kotetsuko
Koi to Wana

Yamashita Tomoko
Kuimonodokoro Akira
Illumination

Yoneda Kou
Doushitemo Furetakunai

I shall edit this over time as certain manga come to mind or as I read more that I fall in love with.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

23 responses to “Ze Besto”

  1. Queen says :

    Oh very good list, I am reading Mainichi Seiten series right now…I didn’t know it would turn out to be great…btw, isn’t the author Sugano Akira? Or BU got it wrong? because the artist changes later I think.

    • ふう子 says :

      Isn’t Mainichi Seiten amaaazing? Which is your favorite couple? I absolutely love Mayu and Yuuta, they’re so adorable!

      And yep, the author is Sugano Akira! However, I only listed Ninomiya Etsumi (the illustrator) because I didn’t want to clutter it up with a bunch of random names. (I did the same for Takao Hiroi and Kamuro Akira’s “Ikenai Otoko”.) But as far as I know Ninomiya Etsumi is the illustrator for the entire series, including all of the novels.

      • Queen says :

        Oh yeah, it is good, I am only halfway though, because I read the last part first XD. I also like the kids a lot, the older couple is meh and the last one is a bit tragic but I liked it.

        Ohh I see…and Takao Hiroi :D great smut there, I hope to read more from them.!

        • ふう子 says :

          Haha did you? I think I made that mistake as well the first time I read it—I started with Children’s Time and read halfway before I thought “hmm… this story already seems so developed. Is there something I missed??” XD;

          Takao Hiroi & Kamuro Akira have really fantastic smut. *A* I love reading everything I can find by that duo.

  2. Crofesima says :

    Oh fuuko, I love you so much. NEW TITLES TO CHECK OUT ( ゚∀゚)アハハ八八ノヽノヽノヽノ \ / \/ \

  3. cosmoflip says :

    I’d like to recommend Fukase Akane’s ‘Pocket Sentimental’. The sequels were a bit meh for me but I absolutely loved the first book :D

  4. mango says :

    Hey do you have any samples pictures of Koi no Magarikado or Kimi Note that I can see :) These are two artist I have not heard before and if the art is good like you said I guess I can try it out ^^

    • ふう子 says :

      For Koi no Magarikado I did a review, which can be found here:
      http://wp.me/pITEX-d0

      As for Junko, here’s a sample of her art from the second chapter of Kimi Note:

      • MANGO says :

        Junko … I LIKE IT! It’s very cute :). Is there any sex scenes in this one? If so then I’m sold haha!

        The art looks a little cutesy for there to be any sex scenes and so far the cover are of her three books didn’t wow me at all, but now seeing the cute sample I will most likely try this title first and I’ll think about picking up her other titles too ^^ Thanks

  5. vomitdirt says :

    Oooh, a LIST! This is very exciting.

    What is this Sora to Hara by Nakamura Asumiko? I do not know this one and I must!

    • ふう子 says :

      Woo! /o/

      Sora to Hara is the continuation of Doukyuusei and Sotsugyousei that’s currently running in OPERA, and it deals with Hara-sen as he tries to get over his feelings for Sajou and fend off his other student, Sorano, who has a sudden interest in him after they meet outside of school. It’s pretty cute; I want Hara-sen to just move on already and accept Sorano, who is very peppy and cute in contrast to Sajou’s shy gloominess.

      • vomitdirt says :

        O.o This. Sounds. Amazing. Gyahhhhh! And I have not even had a chance to read Sotsugyousei. >_< This is why I need to get back into my japanese full swing. I am missing out on so much as I am at the mercy of scanlations. Nyah.

        But thank you for the info! I will def. be keeping my eyes open for any news on it. ^^ Oh, and p.s. I just did a mini write up on Nakamura's manga that I have read at my blog. Hee. I plan on doing one of Sakuraga Mei's as well because goodness, I could just talk about how much I love their work forever. :) Too lovely.

        I reeeeeeaaaaaally want to read about Hara-sen too though!!!

        • ふう子 says :

          It’s pretty good! /o/ I haven’t read it as closely as I probably should yet, but I really love Sorano’s personality and I think someone like him is good for the gloomy, sarcastic Hara-sen. But I agree—it really sucks to have to just sit around and wait on scanlations. Even though the scanlation groups always work as hard as they can, there’s only so much they can do against the huge tide of constant releases every month. It’s a big part of the reason I’ve been practicing my Japanese more and more as well.

          No problem, I’m always here to help! :3 Ahh, did you? I’ll have to check it out, then!

  6. Kery says :

    I find myself re-reading Kinoshita Keiko’s manga (especially Mitsuiro Pancake, Meguriauyo Baby, Sukidesu Kakarichou, and Yuri-sensei wa Kyou mo Jyoukigen + Yuri-sensei to Itoshiki Hibi, and occasionally Kimi to Harujion) whenever I can’t find anything new/interesting to read.

    …. Then again, she’s my favourite BL mangaka. I swear I’ve re-read Sukidesu Kakarichou at least 17 times and I still love it. I totally recommend Kinoshita Keiko. Her stuff can be rather fluffy, but some of the stories can break your heart a little (like Tonari no Kare), or a lot (like the last one-shot in Kiss Blue 2, or Ikusen no Yoru).

    I re-read Kotobuki Tarako’s “Garden” tank (it’s some sort of collection of long stories with a oneshot that kinda ties them together) when I’m in the mood for deeper thinking. It raises a lot of interesting philosophical questions, I think.

    And I re-read Sakurai Ryou’s manga when I’m bored but don’t want to use my brain much. Lol.

    • ふう子 says :

      You really make me realize I haven’t read enough of Kinoshita Keiko’s manga. Right after I got this comment yesterday I went and reread ‘Tonari no Kare’ and was reminded why it was so enjoyable lol. I’ll have to try harder to seek out all the other work she has done.

      “And I re-read Sakurai Ryou’s manga when I’m bored but don’t want to use my brain much. Lol.”
      Hahaha true, true! Sakurai Ryou is very good at pointlessly fluffy smut!

      Thank you so much for your recommendations!

      • Kery says :

        I fell in love with her after reading Yuri-sensei wa Kyou mo Jyoukigen, which made me laugh so hard that I cried (and promptly re-read it 5 times). Another really good story would be the oneshot at the end of Kiss Blue, but you’d need to read the rest of Kiss Blue (2 volumes) to get to know the main character in the oneshot (he’s a minor character in the main story… the sexually-harrassing manager of the cafe, lol). The oneshot is rather depressing, but I won’t spoil it for you :D

        What I REALLY like about her manga is that they are easy to read. Some mangaka write in very convoluted ways, some mangaka use too much text, and some mangaka simply like using rarer kanji because it seems cooler or something – but Kinoshita-sensei does none of that. A prime example would be Ikusen no Yoru (vol 1, vol 2 to be released soon) which had soooo little text, yet made me cry all the way through it. So many pages had just one or two bubbles of conversation, or no text at all. It’s skill like that which makes me respect Kinoshita-sensei a lot!

        Okay…. enough fangirling. *zip* Enjoy Kinoshita-sensei!

  7. philia says :

    Wow, we have the exact same taste in BL manga! Exciting? :D *excited*
    I’ll have to check some of the stuff I haven’t read on this list out. Thanks for the heads up!

Leave a Reply

