Spotlight: Ogura Muku

Ogura Muku actually seems to be catching on a lot, which pretty much makes my life. But for the sake of completion (and to give me a reason to fangirl just a little bit more) I thought I’d still give her one of these posts. There’s no such thing as having too much information, is there?

Comic tankoubon:
Furueru Yoru no Himitsugoto
Sentimental Garden Lover

Novel illustration:
LOVE Love
Hotaru no Katakoi
Sorairo Spica
Ryuusei Syrup
Fukigen de Amai Tsumeato
Uso to Gokai wa Koi no Sei
Ren’ai Shishousetsu
Fujouri de Amai Sasayaki
Koi Hiyori.
Peppermint Tour

As you can see, a majority of her most works are novel illustrations. I don’t often notice her name in any BL magazines aside from maybe the novel monthlies. This is heartbreaking to me because I like the stories she writes herself the very most, as they’re so sweet. Also, I can’t read novels. My Japanese is nowhere near that good. However, that doesn’t mean I’m never tempted to buy them just so I can flip through them and appreciate the art. Both of her actual manga have been scanlated by the lovely group Attractive Fascinante to completion and can thus be read in English. If you have yet to read them, please do so.

Ogura Muku truly has a way with sweet, gentle stories. They’re not something I’d recommend if you’re looking to get yourself off, definitely. Her characters are always incredibly gentle, even when they’re supposed to be harsh. Like with Kumota Haruko, it’s a well-balanced mix of feminine and masculine traits.

Her stories are always quite fluffy. Like in Furueru Yoru, which is about a boy who’s afraid of bright lights falling in love and comforting a boy who’s afraid of the dark. And in the story Sentimental Garden Lover, which is about a cat who becomes human to protect his beloved and gentle master from his abusive boyfriend. And then part two of Sentimenal Garden Lover, which is about another cat who becomes human so he can comfort a man whose lover left him to get married. Ogura Muku’s mind seems to be filled with stories that are so incredibly sweet that they make you want to cry from pure happiness.

Her art style is also very unique and only adds to the frightening amount of cute. She draws hair that charmingly sticks up all over, and wide mouths that are great for drawing big dorky grins, and skinny soft-looking bodies.

I would try to name my favorite story by her, but that’s actually quite hard. I love pretty much everything she’s released. She’s the entire reason I ever purchased Cab in the first place, because at that time I couldn’t have cared less about the other authors in there but if she was releasing a story in that magazine then it was instantly worth the price. And I wasn’t disappointed—Castle Mango may not be as sweet and fluffy and simple as her other stories (mostly because she is only the artist for that story, not the author) but it’s interesting and cute and her art is as beautiful and expressive as ever.

I’m waiting with bated breath for her to announce a new tankoubon of comics written and drawn by her, but that seems like something I’ll be waiting a long time for. Until then, I’ll content myself with rereading her manga over and over for the millionth time each and staring adoringly at anything she has ever drawn that I can get my hands on.

Also worth noting: she’s friends with Kobato Mebaru, my other most-loved mangaka. They have a doujinshi circle together, Munya Munya Sue, for which I own the doujinshi for and have done a review about somewhere on this blog. It shouldn’t be too hard to find. Err. Yet, anyway. It’s very cute!

Anyway, her blog can be found here for quick updates on her releases and what she’s currently working on. Sadly, she doesn’t really update it that often. But it’s still worth keeping an eye on if you like her work and want to stay on top of it!

Tags:

One response to “Spotlight: Ogura Muku”

  1. nomanlive says :

    I agree with every word you wrote ^^
    “Until then, I’ll content myself with rereading her manga over and over for the millionth time each and staring adoringly at anything she has ever drawn that I can get my hands on.” —> Same here… lol
    “However, that doesn’t mean I’m never tempted to buy them just so I can flip through them and appreciate the art” —> I hope that i will have them all, too…
    I was very happy when I read this post because I could get something more about sensei. Just reading is satisfied enough…
    Thank you so much for the very useful post! ^^

Leave a Reply

