Spotlight: Yamanaka Hiko

Until I’m able to read Ouji to Kotori (which I stupidly forgot to purchase again), I’m not going to be able to get Yamanaka Hiko out of my mind. So it’s time for a spotlight compilation!

Doujin Sakka Collection
Hatsukoi no 70% wa
Ouji to Kotori
Marusumiya no Yometori
Morifumi Daigaku Danshiryou Monogatari

It wasn’t until just recently that I really took notice of Yamanaka Hiko, after finding myself quite attracted to the cover of Morifumi Daigaku Danshiryou Monogatari. (Which isn’t featured on Chill Chill, btw, but is still supposedly tagged as “BL” on amazon!JP so I’m not sure what’s up with that.) However, so far I’ve only been able to find scans for one of her works, Hatsukoi no 70% wa.

But using Hatsukoi, my general impressions is quite good. Her art style is unusual, but very interesting with incredibly clear lines. It’s not really sketchy at all, in my opinion, even though her lines tend to be soft. It’s somewhere between Hoshino Lily and Koide Meiko’s newer works.

Her characters are interesting and boyish. They don’t seem necessarily unrealistic, though are a bit childish. Then again, I’ve only read her shorts dealing with high school love, so that’s completely understandable—not to mention they aren’t ‘childish’ in a bothersome or annoying way.

There are dirty scenes but you don’t really see anything explicitly. Just a lot of groping and heavy breathing. Though her other tankoubon might be more perverted.

She’s really got my attention lately because I have yet to see a particularly bad review for Ouji to Kotori. On amazon!JP it doesn’t have anything under four stars yet, and a few Japanese fujoshi blogs have even listed it as the most memorable release of 2009. So supposedly it’s quite good, which I don’t doubt.

One of these days, I’ll actually remember to buy it so I can properly see for myself how amazing it is.

One of these days.

Tags:

2 responses to “Spotlight: Yamanaka Hiko”

  1. Lennie says :

    Her art style looks amazing… ; A ;
    BUT AGAIN, NOT SCANLATED HOLY CRAP
    *Dies*

Leave a Reply

